Thursday, June 2, 2011

Meet our newest LCHS board member

Darlene Arnold, one of Lucas County's leading genealogists, joined the board of the Lucas County Historical Society during its April 18 annual meeting. Darlene was elected to replace Jack Young, who at age 85 asked to be allowed to retire after many years of service as board president and member.

Darlene is a veteran member of the Lucas County Genealogical Society, principally responsible for editing its newsletter and also serving as treasurer.

She may be most widely known, however, for the inclusive index to all existing issues of Lucas County newspapers that she spent many years compiling and continues to update regularly. That index is available for public use on the Chariton Free Public Library Web site and may be accessed here.

Also during the April 18 annual meeting, Jim Secor, Fred Steinbach and Bob Ulrich were elected to new three-year terms on the board of directors.

Frank D. Myers was elected to a new term as board president; Bob Curtis, as vice-president; Gene Egeland,  as treasurer; and Lucinda Burkhalter, secretary.

The board meets at 9 a.m. on the second Tuesday of each month in the commons room of the John L. Lewis Building on the museum campus, 123 N. 17th St., in Chariton. Members always are welcome to attend.

No comments:

Post a Comment